Pathfinder Award nominations may be submitted starting February 5, 2018 with a receipt date deadline of February 19. The nomination form may be downloaded by clicking here. Submission may be in person at the Museum reception desk on the second floor foyer, by mail to Alison Bailey, Museum of Flight, 9404 East Marginal Way South, Seattle, WA 98108-4097, or electronically with attachments to Alison Bailey at

The Museum of Flight’s Annual Pathfinder Awards honors individuals with ties to the Pacific Northwest who have made significant contributions to the development of the aerospace industry. Categories include Flying, Education, Operations, Engineering, Manufacturing and At-Large. Pathfinder Award recipients are selected by The Museum of Flight, the Pacific Northwest Section of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics and representatives of other aviation and aerospace organizations and companies throughout the Northwest.

The 2017 Pathfinder Award recipients were:

Dr. Walt Braithwaite

Dr. Walt Braithwaite. Photo courtesy Greg Gilbert/The Seattle Times.

Download Full Bio

J. Kenneth Higgins

J. Kenneth Higgins. Photo courtesy The Boeing Company Archives

Download Full Bio

Dr. George D. Nelson

Dr. George D.

Download Full Bio

The 2017 Pathfinder Award Banquet Dinner was held on October 14, 2017. For further details about the Pathfinder Awards, please contact Gracie Loesser at 206.764.5709 or email

To view biographical information for every Pathfinder Award recipient to date, visit the T.A. Wilson Great Gallery at the Museum or browse our database below.

Go to Pathfinder Award Database